Pie

I come from a long line of pie makers. At holiday times we always look forward to the pumpkin and apple pies that my grandmother (Stephanie Sr., not Philomena), brings to the table. My mother, Joanne, used to bake pies for a country club. She claims that her pie crusts were the best she ever ate. She had the making of them down to such a science that she actually froze all of her ingredients and utensils (rolling pin, pastry cutter, bowl) before starting. I’ve done the same, it works, trust me.

There are, in my opinion, few things in the world more glorious than pie. I love cupcakes and all, but pie is the most versatile of baked goods. A vehicle for both savory and sweet…meaning you can have pie for dinner and dessert!

This Thanksgiving, spent with my father in Charlotte, I was without Stephanie Sr.’s pies, or my own mother’s guidance. I had to rough it. It was a little treacherous at first. After the failed crust of the peach and creme fraiche pie this past summer, I was a little scared to take on another one. In truth, as much as I love them, I have not yet mastered pies.

This time around I went with a bourbon orange pecan pie. After all, we were in the south. When my aunt moved to Raleigh many years ago we added pecan to our holiday pie mix, and I just couldn’t do without it. Or maybe it was just that I love any opportunity to include booze in my baking and cooking. Maybe drinking some of that Wild Turkey clouded my judgment and caused me to take the pie out of the oven about 5 minutes too soon making for an extremely delicious, albeit runny, pie.

What do you do with such a pie? You pour the runny syrup on top, dollop on some whipped cream and eat for dessert and then for breakfast the next day.

The crust was perfect this time. However, Joanne will tell you that pie crusts are a finnicky thing. The weather, room temperature, your personal bourbon intake, can all effect wether or not you will have a successful crust. Like I said before, chill everything before you start. It is your greatest weapon against temperature and humidity.

Also with regard to the Wild Turkey, my girl, Philomena, was right there drinking it with me. What a champ.


Comments
2 Responses to “Pie”
  1. Rod Zink says:

    Steffi…. I stumbled across your blog this morning, randomly searching, etc… while my kids watch cartoons and repeatedly comment that “it’s close enough to Christmas to open presents.” I’m almost convinced….
    Anyway, I’ve been reading…and enjoying your adventures and pics. Yeah.. funny when you think no one is watching (reading)….. Had the privilege of visiting PA years ago and found portions of it much like home here in the South…. lots of wilderness, nice folk, alcohol.. Speaking Pennsylvanese was cumbersome, but a shot of whiskey in Scranton with some locals cured the language barriers… Apparently, “Acorn” is actually pronounced like “A… corn”… fascinating…Hey… and look at me… rambling…. my own brand of adult conversation this morning….uh… so… I’ll be reading.. more pics of the AT there…

    • steffaniarosa says:

      Thank you for the kind words, Rod. I’ve had to take a little break from blogging but I’ll be back with more adventures in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

